The child in me peeped out and my heart skipped a beat in that moment of thrill.

A212DEE6-55DC-4F03-A2B0-74A3DC99D4B7So picking the happiest moment of my recent trek to Kedarkantha in December 2019 is as difficult as to plan a next possible trip in this pandemic situation 😛Each and every step that led to the successful completion of the trek including pain n discomfort was destined to be experienced for its wholesomeness and eventually contributed in creating a bunch of happy moments altogether in my memory. 

Kedarkantha was my second Himalayan trek after Valley of flowers and my first winter trek. Little I knew about the adversity that comes with the cold atmosphere. I wouldn’t say I was underprepared but one can never be fully prepared when it comes to mountains and so was i. How I wish to narrate each and every smallest detail associated with this beautiful trek from almost missing to reach to make it to the trek because of the flight mishap, playing dumb charade, eating momos in a road side joint, singing and dancing on our trek anthem with our trek leader Raj, snow fights with my trek buddies and last but not the least reaching to summit and breaking down in tears, let me come to describing my HAPPIEST TREK MOMENT now.

I was skeptical to try rolling and sliding down the snow at first but I knew it would be a tremendous fun if I tried anyway. We all had queued up for our turns and were cheering and hooting with excitement for the ones rolling and sliding. And there came my turn..with my hands up holding my trek pole, my mouth and eyes wide open, i tilted back a little and began to slide on the uneven snowy patch. With each passing moment, excitement grew immensely. A child in me never wanted that slide to end. I was lost in that moment of euphoria. I dint miss a single chance to slide or roll after that and infact I was looking forward to it in my entire journey left.

Some moments make our life so worthwhile and fulfilled that we can never be grateful enough for having it experienced.

6 thoughts on “The child in me peeped out and my heart skipped a beat in that moment of thrill.

  1. Lovely experience.. treks are always adventurous and fun. You feel heavenly.
    Looking forward for such more fun post Dr.Maitri.
    Keep it up. Good luck 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess it was lovely experience also unforgettable. I like the way you narrated whole experience. Child should be in each and every person untill you die.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anything that brings out a child in you is a great gift from the God! Enjoy trekking and let others enjoy the same through your 🖊 pen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment